View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 17 Dec 2017 11:56 pm



Reply to topic  [ 1112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45  Next
 Master Race gaming thread 
Author Message
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5477
Yep, Rufus.

I’m going to take it someone tomorrow who should fix it. Then back to PC gaming :up:


07 Oct 2017 02:12 pm
Profile
Cheats
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 01:09 am
Posts: 18701
Location: 2113
Gamertag: GenerationX 360
PSN ID: Weak_Spot
Mii: GenerationX_2k
Steam ID: Gen X
Candy Arse wrote:
t0mby wrote:
Welcome to the Master Race.


Yeah it's fucked. I'm having this major issue where my 4k monitor won't go above 60fps so I'm limited to 4k 60fps in all my games :suicide:


Isolated incident. :lol:

_________________
Image

selfish wrote:
Being a massive fanboy and trying to hide it is Lestat's worst bottleneck.


Currently playing: Gran Turismo Sport


07 Oct 2017 06:18 pm
Profile WWW
Very Regular Member
Very Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 02:39 am
Posts: 3247
Location: 戦争こそ僕たちたちの生業
Back to flipswitches problem. If I had to hazard a guess I think it's a bad USB installer. Seen it happen before

_________________
ANATHEMATIC ILLIMITED, TRANSFATAL EXPRESS, VIRAL INCORPORATED, INTERNATIONAL EPIDEMICS & MENSTRUAL MOTORCYCLES.


07 Oct 2017 07:16 pm
Profile
Elite Ginger
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 08:41 am
Posts: 19255
t0mby wrote:
Candy Arse wrote:
t0mby wrote:
Welcome to the Master Race.


Yeah it's fucked. I'm having this major issue where my 4k monitor won't go above 60fps so I'm limited to 4k 60fps in all my games :suicide:


Isolated incident. :lol:


No dramas here on either of my ninja PCs :up:


07 Oct 2017 07:45 pm
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5477
Rorschach wrote:
Back to flipswitches problem. If I had to hazard a guess I think it's a bad USB installer. Seen it happen before



I’m taking it in to a guy this evening. I’ll report back when he has diagnosed the issue and fixed it. Need to get back into Cuphead. Glad I’m on 100/40 now, it’s going to make updating my games less stressful.


08 Oct 2017 02:16 pm
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5477
PC back, good as new. The guy I took it to also had trouble installing the update because it was freezing for him, and he even swapped out the ram and gfx card but still wouldn’t update. I forgot what he said exactly, but he had the windows os with it fully updated and it worked.

Currently restoring games now. Long process, have them all backed up but it has to be done.


10 Oct 2017 12:52 pm
Profile
Elite Ginger
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 08:41 am
Posts: 19255
I'd be interested to know what the problem was.


10 Oct 2017 02:35 pm
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5477
Me too, to diagnose that would cost me more money, so we opted not to go any further. It shouldn’t be an issue any more because I’ll be upgrading my hardware in the future.

Installed a few games and got back into Project Cars 2, and after my time with GT Sport it honestly feels much better, particularly the racing and physics. It felt like I was really driving the car and the races were more real. I’ve only played a custom races just to get familiar with it, but it was exhilarating. Even the menus and music feel like a premium package.

I think Pep was asking before about it, I recommend giving it a go. :up:

I’ll be going back to GT Sport while the beta still runs, unless PC2 takes all my time...


10 Oct 2017 04:44 pm
Profile
The End

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 09:23 am
Posts: 6219
Location: Melbourne
Steam ID: peppermintl2k5
Has anyone done Quantum Break on Master Race? Thinking of dropping a twenty on it.


18 Oct 2017 06:53 pm
Profile
Elite Ginger
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 08:41 am
Posts: 19255
Now running a 10m HDMI cable from my best PC into the 55" 4K HDR TV in the games room.

Wireless XBONE controller means high end PC gaming on my couch no problems.

:suicide: GameHED :suicide:
:suicide: Consoles :suicide:


19 Oct 2017 10:24 pm
Profile
Pixel Count Lestat
Pixel Count Lestat
User avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2006 11:15 pm
Posts: 10933
Location: Sydney
Gamertag: grlestat
PSN ID: grlestat
Steam ID: m00nwalker
How do you think I've been enjoying 4k HDR Ultra settings Forza 7 right now. :D

Can you drive a 4k HDR signal over that distance? I've been told to keep runs for 18gbps signals to under 5m.


Grab one these, http://www.riitek.com/product/k12x.html

and a xbone/360 controller is all you need.


20 Oct 2017 05:21 am
Profile WWW
Elite Ginger
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 08:41 am
Posts: 19255
Great recommendation thank you!

Yep 4k HDR is fine over 10m - was checking out Hitman last night and it was all good.


20 Oct 2017 05:40 am
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 11:24 am
Posts: 352
Gamertag: emptyvessel79
PSN ID: emptyvessel79
Mii: emptyvessel
Steam ID: emptyvessel
Got my tax refund and am considering finally replacing my ancient monitor with something decent.

I've got a Geforce GTX 1070 so I consider G-sync a definite. Not 100% sold on 4k as I want to max out graphical quality and maintain a ridiculous framerate. Was thinking an IPS panel as I'd prefer the graphical quality over the faster refresh rates.

Any suggestions?


24 Oct 2017 09:10 pm
Profile
Very Regular Member
Very Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 02:39 am
Posts: 3247
Location: 戦争こそ僕たちたちの生業
I love my Acer XB1 Predator - 1440p, 165Hz, IPS and G-Sync. Can be had for about $900AUD if you get it from an online retailer during one of those 20% off sales. I got mine from Futu Online. 1440p is the sweet spot for desktop gaming at 27 inches. You could wait for the next generation of Predators/ROGs due next year with higher refresh rates (200-240Hz), IPS, G-Sync and 4K but they will no doubt be retardedly expensive and need a minimum 1080 to take full advantage.

_________________
ANATHEMATIC ILLIMITED, TRANSFATAL EXPRESS, VIRAL INCORPORATED, INTERNATIONAL EPIDEMICS & MENSTRUAL MOTORCYCLES.


24 Oct 2017 10:11 pm
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 11:24 am
Posts: 352
Gamertag: emptyvessel79
PSN ID: emptyvessel79
Mii: emptyvessel
Steam ID: emptyvessel
Thanks Rors. Checking Futu I can get it for ~$890 as there is a 20% deal at the moment. Scorptec is also selling them for $899, which may be better as I can talk to people face to face if there are problems.

Oooh, $1,199 for the 32" 4k version at Scorptec.... Hmmm....


25 Oct 2017 11:32 am
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5477
I have the 24inch and playing at 165hz is mouth watering.


25 Oct 2017 11:37 am
Profile
Pixel Count Lestat
Pixel Count Lestat
User avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2006 11:15 pm
Posts: 10933
Location: Sydney
Gamertag: grlestat
PSN ID: grlestat
Steam ID: m00nwalker
Make sure you can get the option to take it back, Acer have a 7 day pixel perfect guarantee. These IPS Gsync panels have a pretty bad defect/bad pixel rate. My first one had a stuck pixel, I was able to exchange it for another and inspected the replacement at their warehouse.

This was with pc.byte on ebay, futu when I had issues with my cpu/motherboard wouldn't let me return in person, they insisted on posting stuff even though their offices were just at green square, not far from my work.

So keep that in mind.


25 Oct 2017 11:42 am
Profile WWW
Collects Tomby Porn
User avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2007 10:17 am
Posts: 2525
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Seconding Rors and Flip about the Predator. Also have a 1070 and love my screen; playing anything at 144+fps steady is seriously good. Gsync makes it a bit pricey but I believe it's worth it. The screen is the most important piece imo, and I think/guess that as games get heavier and the 1070 starts struggling, Gsync will keep you less aware of your hardware for longer. IPS, 4ms, 144/165Hz, Gsync, Mox Sapphire.

If you can shop in person and the price isn't massively different, definitely do so imo. Some IPS screens can come out with too much brightness in the corners, so it's good to be able to deal with anything like that (or pixels) in person.

Seriously 60fps really is the new 30fps.

_________________
Still


26 Oct 2017 03:54 am
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5477
AC:Origins, is a very good pc port, even better than Syndicate and Unity. The image quality is so clean, they must be using TAA or something because they previously used FXAA+MSAA. Performance is solid, 60 fps on everything at its highest setting at 1080p. My system isn’t high end by any means, 980ti/3770k stock, 16GB. I know most here have a better equipped PC, so no need to worry.

The actual game is so much fun. It’s feels so much different than your typical AC title. The new movement/combat system and setting helps.

Image


27 Oct 2017 03:55 pm
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5477
Framerate is dropping to the mid 40s to 50s in highly populated, dense areas such as Alexandria ( which looks stunning by the way) CPU usage is always at 100% on all Cores, and strangely lowering some settings such as AA or Shadows doesn’t have any impact on performance.


This was posted on reddit:

Image

Here’s a pic I took in the starting area which isn’t graphically intense but still maxing out my cores. Game benefits from HT.

Image

An article on it:
http://www.dsogaming.com/news/rumour-denuvo-causes-30-40-additional-cpu-usage-assassins-creed-origins/

Quote from ResetEra:

Quote:
Let’s start from the beginning. According to the scene group Revolt, Ubisoft has added VMProtect over Denuvo. Our guess is that the French team did this in order to protect its title from pirates. After all, we’ve seen all the latest Denuvo games getting cracked in less than a day. However, and at the time of writing, there is still no crack for Assassin’s Creed Origins.

That’s all good for Ubisoft, however Revolt claimed that this implementation brings a severe CPU performance hit. According to its reports, there is an additional 30-40% CPU performance hit with this new implementation.Image
Quote:
Now we don’t know whether this claim is true at all, so take it with a grain of salt. Unfortunately there is no way to test whether Denuvo causes this abnormally high CPU usage in Assassin’s Creed: Origins. And that’s because if and when the game gets cracked, VMProtect and Denuvo will still run in the background. In short, and as with all Denuvo cracks, this will simply bypass the protections tools.



Last edited by flipswitch on 30 Oct 2017 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.



30 Oct 2017 10:18 am
Profile
Pixel Count Lestat
Pixel Count Lestat
User avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2006 11:15 pm
Posts: 10933
Location: Sydney
Gamertag: grlestat
PSN ID: grlestat
Steam ID: m00nwalker
Yep AC games traditionally hit CPU limits quicker than GPU, overclocking your CPU might help you lift the fps in those areas, tinkering with AA/shadows won't have any impact, mostly GPU related.

That's pretty crazy in the picture you've posted, the game is maxing out pretty much every core, very few games I've seen can do that, Crysis 3 in welcome to the jungle section is pretty much it.

Guessing there must be some heavy VM layer present.


Last edited by lestat on 30 Oct 2017 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.



30 Oct 2017 10:27 am
Profile WWW
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5477
Haven’t OC, but 3770k, 980Ti, 16GB, at 1080p ( playing on tv)


30 Oct 2017 10:29 am
Profile
Very Regular Member
Very Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 02:39 am
Posts: 3247
Location: 戦争こそ僕たちたちの生業
Why I refuse to play AC games, they constantly peg the CPU to 100% on all cores. No other game does that, not even games like the Witcher.

_________________
ANATHEMATIC ILLIMITED, TRANSFATAL EXPRESS, VIRAL INCORPORATED, INTERNATIONAL EPIDEMICS & MENSTRUAL MOTORCYCLES.


30 Oct 2017 10:52 am
Profile
Pixel Count Lestat
Pixel Count Lestat
User avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2006 11:15 pm
Posts: 10933
Location: Sydney
Gamertag: grlestat
PSN ID: grlestat
Steam ID: m00nwalker
I thought we were past this Denuvo shit when they cracked it wide open recently, but it seems they've just gone thermonuclear with it to the point of destroying the user experience.

Disappointing, usually AC does nothing for me but I was really intrigued to try this one, I love ancient egypt as a period and the revamped hitbox combat looks a lot more interesting.

I guess it's one to buy for the XOX.


30 Oct 2017 11:01 am
Profile WWW
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5477
I wish it wasn’t so hard to final the 8700k. No one has them in stock. My 3770k will be 5 years in jan.


01 Nov 2017 04:31 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 1112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.