View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 16 Dec 2017 07:44 am



Reply to topic  [ 398 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
 Windows 10 
Author Message
Pixel Count Lestat
Pixel Count Lestat
User avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2006 11:15 pm
Posts: 10933
Location: Sydney
Gamertag: grlestat
PSN ID: grlestat
Steam ID: m00nwalker
My brother works with unity, I only use c# occasionally for win32 desktop ui these days, my work is mostly c++/python on linux, that's becoming the norm in the finance space, java is also very common but I do very little of that these days. Then there is the odd hacking around in javascript/php for web stuff.


03 Dec 2015 12:06 pm
Profile WWW
Boundless Generosity
Boundless Generosity
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 07:51 am
Posts: 18671
Location: Brisbane
Gamertag: GreyWizzard
PSN ID: Grey_AU
So far IE is spitting out certificate errors and the MS account log in window tells me something went wrong without an error code.

This OS is awesome!

_________________
Image

MK Fatality Retrospective


23 Jan 2016 02:52 pm
Profile
Boundless Generosity
Boundless Generosity
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 07:51 am
Posts: 18671
Location: Brisbane
Gamertag: GreyWizzard
PSN ID: Grey_AU
Fixed. The date was hideously out.

_________________
Image

MK Fatality Retrospective


23 Jan 2016 07:41 pm
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5475
Still stuck on win8, but upgrading to win10 has me worried.

(This is probably old news for most, but new for me).

Can't copy and paste atm so had to take a screenshot.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/technology-science/technology/windows-10-watching-you-fans-6187498
Image

How do guys get around this?


05 Apr 2016 08:06 pm
Profile
googlebomber
googlebomber
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 10:17 pm
Posts: 8660
Location: Just behind GameHED
Gamertag: unfunk
Mii: 3DS: 3797-6243-7145
Steam ID: unfnknblvbl
don't use Cortana. It's not a kill-all solution, but whatever, I'm not really all that fussed. I also don't use any of the bundles MS apps; my email is via secured connection in Chrome (although I guess Google gets all the info about that, hahaha).

The OS is just infinitely nicer to use than 8.1

_________________
The sky calls to us; if we do not destroy ourselves, we will one day venture to the stars


05 Apr 2016 10:42 pm
Profile
Boundless Generosity
Boundless Generosity
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 07:51 am
Posts: 18671
Location: Brisbane
Gamertag: GreyWizzard
PSN ID: Grey_AU
I haven't been able to get the old style control panel to work in forever. I could work through it... but eff that. I'm worried I might have to create a new profile to get it all going...

_________________
Image

MK Fatality Retrospective


06 Apr 2016 10:35 am
Profile
googlebomber
googlebomber
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 10:17 pm
Posts: 8660
Location: Just behind GameHED
Gamertag: unfunk
Mii: 3DS: 3797-6243-7145
Steam ID: unfnknblvbl
start -> type "control panel"

_________________
The sky calls to us; if we do not destroy ourselves, we will one day venture to the stars


06 Apr 2016 06:47 pm
Profile
Boundless Generosity
Boundless Generosity
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 07:51 am
Posts: 18671
Location: Brisbane
Gamertag: GreyWizzard
PSN ID: Grey_AU
I do know a little thing about computers... :rolleyes:

CP crashes out when I attempt to run it. I can run the shitty Win10 skin wrapped version but not the proper version. Used to work fine but since the big cortana update it stopped working. There is some trouble shooting I can do by running in safe mode but I'm too lazy... Plus it's not a big deal if I don't think about it. Just don't look just don't look.

I'm just annoyed that something that worked has stopped working after an OS update and when I spoke to support they were kind of lost about the issue.

_________________
Image

MK Fatality Retrospective


07 Apr 2016 07:38 am
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5475
I have win10 arriving this week, possibly Wednesday. Not looking forward to formatting and installing it plus gigs worth of games and updates...



Edit: updated yesterday, everything went smoothly, no issues. Yey I'm dx12 ready, just waiting for those nvidia cards to drop.

Edit:2 opening task manager, using very little ram use even with steam open, it's showing about 1.5gb in use. :).

Huge improvement in the user interface over win 8.0. Everything is easy to find. Very impressed.


11 Apr 2016 04:27 pm
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5475
Every now and then my desktop freezes after booting including mouse. Can't do nothing but restart.


06 May 2016 04:40 pm
Profile
Regular Member
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: 27 Oct 2006 05:19 pm
Posts: 1940
Location: Sydney
Gamertag: shimma
PSN ID: shimma1138
Steam ID: stanard
I absolutely love it.

Got myself a NUC, a 1440p monitor and a super slim apple style cordless keyboard and mouse and gone super minimal. So good.


06 May 2016 06:16 pm
Profile
Hates Everyone Equally
Hates Everyone Equally
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 12:56 am
Posts: 15170
Yeah, I had a few W10 niggles...but they seemed to disappear after a few weeks. I'd shut down the OS but the tower would stay on or I'd lose right click on my task bar forcing me to reboot. Rebooting my Surface Pro since it went over to W10 has also been a bit hit and miss. Still is.


06 May 2016 07:30 pm
Profile WWW
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5475
I think I have found the cause of the random freezes at desktop. I unplugged my Xbox 360 wireless adapter, and it hasn't froze since.


17 May 2016 07:40 pm
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: 01 Sep 2007 10:51 pm
Posts: 569
Location: Wandin Valley
Gamertag: Thread Killer
PSN ID: Cool_-_Z
Steam ID: Bell end
Free upgrade to Win 10 offer expires tonight.

I've made a disk image of my current Canadian edition of Win 7, am about to upgrade it and then do an image of 10, then restore back to 7. I'm sure one day down the line I'll want to start using 10.


31 Jul 2016 05:34 pm
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5475
New Windows anniversary update out, mine gets stuck and freezes at 23% installation!.

How's everyone else going?


04 Aug 2016 01:22 pm
Profile
The End

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 09:23 am
Posts: 6219
Location: Melbourne
Steam ID: peppermintl2k5
How did you end up? Seems a few people got stuck at 23%.


04 Aug 2016 07:41 pm
Profile
que
que
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jul 2006 07:05 pm
Posts: 5475
Tried it a second time with some things unplugged from my computer but got the same result. Leaving it as it is for now.


04 Aug 2016 08:13 pm
Profile
All accusations are unsubstantiated
All accusations are unsubstantiated
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 09:15 pm
Posts: 6992
Location: Perth, WA
Gamertag: AmbroseBurnside
Steam ID: Ambrose Burnside
I've installed it on my desktop and my wife's desktop. Going to install it on my Surface Pro now.

_________________
Image


04 Aug 2016 09:31 pm
Profile
The End

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 09:23 am
Posts: 6219
Location: Melbourne
Steam ID: peppermintl2k5
My upgrade ok.


04 Aug 2016 11:35 pm
Profile
All accusations are unsubstantiated
All accusations are unsubstantiated
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 09:15 pm
Posts: 6992
Location: Perth, WA
Gamertag: AmbroseBurnside
Steam ID: Ambrose Burnside
Game Mode. Do not understand.

Shouldn't the OS prioritise the game anyway?

If you're a PC gamer you wouldn't have a lot of shit running in the background that can slow things down anyway. And even if you do have a lot running, you probably have a powerful PC so it doesn't matter.
If you do have a PC riddled with crap where some sort of Game Mode might help, you wouldn't be playing the types of games where a Game Mode will help anyway.

_________________
Image


06 Feb 2017 08:49 am
Profile
googlebomber
googlebomber
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 10:17 pm
Posts: 8660
Location: Just behind GameHED
Gamertag: unfunk
Mii: 3DS: 3797-6243-7145
Steam ID: unfnknblvbl
yeah, I don't understand it either. Maybe it's a way of Microsoft implementing Android's multitasking in a desktop OS? In which case, it doesn't make sense

_________________
The sky calls to us; if we do not destroy ourselves, we will one day venture to the stars


06 Feb 2017 10:39 pm
Profile
Pixel Count Lestat
Pixel Count Lestat
User avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2006 11:15 pm
Posts: 10933
Location: Sydney
Gamertag: grlestat
PSN ID: grlestat
Steam ID: m00nwalker
I think it's just a way for them to bring more xbone to PC. Lots of console games have strict reservation policies on system resources and developers depend on that. It will help with the bad port problem PC has sometimes.


10 Feb 2017 12:15 pm
Profile WWW
All accusations are unsubstantiated
All accusations are unsubstantiated
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2006 09:15 pm
Posts: 6992
Location: Perth, WA
Gamertag: AmbroseBurnside
Steam ID: Ambrose Burnside
lestat wrote:
I think it's just a way for them to bring more xbone to PC. Lots of console games have strict reservation policies on system resources and developers depend on that. It will help with the bad port problem PC has sometimes.


Sounds logical, but this is Microsoft we're talking about:

Quote:
As a Universal Windows Platform title I expected Forza Horizon 3 to provide me with the most obvious instance of Game Mode’s capabilities. How very wrong I was, in fact Game Mode seems to absolutely tank the Forza’s performance.

By turning Game Mode on when you’re running the GameDVR feature you’re losing between 13-23% and 9-15% gaming performance on the AMD and Nvidia cards respectively.

That’s a massive drop. A massive, unjustifiable drop. I’d be fine with Game Mode simply failing to work, not boosting frame rates, but when it manages to utterly castrate them I’m definitely not sold.

The CPU graphs make for very interesting viewing with Forza. You can see without any of the Windows’ gaming features enabled Forza is already greedily gobbling up almost an entire single thread on its own. But with Game Mode turned on the whole thing is swallowed up, as well as most of the next two threads along, while most of my processors’ threads are doing less than without Game Mode’s interference.

To my not-a-game-programmer's eye it looks like Forza Horizon 3 is very much coded to run on a single thread and with Game Mode enabled it chooses to absolutely max that one thread out and bunches up all the other game processes into fewer threads, potentially leading to more bottlenecking. It’s possible that more multi-threaded games will benefit from Game Mode, while old-school single-thread reliant titles might not see anything positive at all.


Source

Microsoft 101: Think up a cool-sounding solution to a problem no one had, rush it out before it's ready, cop a shitload of abuse, wonder why their market share is tanking, think up another cool-sounding solution to a problem no one had, rinse and repeat :|

Fuck me it's frustrating.

_________________
Image


10 Feb 2017 11:46 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 398 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.